Fantasy series that are a must read.


Evan McGraw, Staff Writer

  1. The Dresden Files
  2. Lord of the Rings
  3. Game of Thrones
  4. Mistborn
  5. The Stormlight Archive
  6. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel
  7. Harry Potter
  8. The Black Company
  9. The Percy Jackson series
  10. The Heroes of Olympus
  11. The Wax and Wayne series
  12. The Wheel of Time
  13. The Heir Chronicles
  14. The Chronicles of Narnia
  15. The Lightbringer Chronicles




This second list is compiled of the previous list, but in order of series I enjoy most. 


  1. The Dresden Files
  2. Mistborn
  3. Lord of the Rings
  4. Game of Thrones
  5. The Wheel of Time
  6. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel
  7. The Heroes of Olympus
  8. The Percy Jackson Series
  9. The Wax and Wayne Series
  10. The Lightbringer Chronicles
  11. The Stormlight Archive
  12. The Heir Chronicles
  13. The Chronicles of Narnia
  14. Harry Potter
  15. The Black Company`


The Dresden Files: In the setting of Chicago, the main character Harry Dresden must deal with creatures from all corners of myth and legend. With nothing but his wit and will, he must face gods, demons, and fairies. Most of them intent on killing him, by any means necessary.

Mistborn: This story follows a girl named Vin, she lives in a ravaged land ruled by an immortal tyrant, and it’s up to her and a band of outlaws to end his reign. She may be dismiss-able by most, but she is more than meets the eye.

Lord of the Rings: A group of adventurers must take the fabled One Ring across the land of Middle-Earth, facing many perilous trials and tribulations. Will they succeed in their quest? Or will they perish at the hands of the Dark Lord Sauron, who attempts to foil them at every twist and turn.

Game of Thrones: In the land of Westeros, several houses compete for the throne through back street dealings and treachery. Little do they know of the undead monstrosities that are soon to attack and over throw everything they’ve ever worked towards.

The Wheel of Time: Rand Al’thor and his friends Perrin and Matt must fight against their destiny and make there own paths in the unstoppable turn of time. But often enough, attempting to change fate provides a more disastrous outcome.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel: Twins Sophie and Josh Newman wanted to live a normal life. But that dream is derailed when they met a sweet couple who turned out to be immortals on the run from a dangerous organization hunting for a secret that could change the fabric of reality as they knew it. Now they are sucked in, being forced to fight for the sake of humanity.

The Heroes of Olympus: A series that takes place after Percy Jackson. Greek and Roman mythology collide in an epic tale of saving the world from the biggest threat they’ve ever faced.

The Percy Jackson series: Percy Jackson must come to terms with the fact that not only is he the half son of a god, but everything from Greek mythology is real. And most of it wants to kill him.

The Wax and Wayne series: Taking place 300 years after the Mistborn Trilogy, we follow the characters Wax and Wayne in a classic western esc tale chockfull of magic.

The Lightbringer Chronicles: Kip, an unknown boy from a small town, gets sucked into the political intrigue and magical warfare of the Seven Satrapies and the all powerful Prism. With a cast of memorable characters, we join Kip in learning about seven (or more) types of truly unique color magic, as well what it means to accept destiny.

The Heir Chronicles: Jack lived a normal life, but that turned around when he discovers that he has supernatural powers. As it turns out his abilities are in high demand between two warring factions, both of which are out for blood.

The Stormlight Archive: We follow a multitude of characters as they uncover hidden secrets about what they are, often times with the past coming back to haunt them. 

The Chronicles of Narnia: Four siblings wind up in a mythical land, and are plunged into the civil war that spans the country. With no way of returning home, they are forced to fight, for Narnia, and their lives.

Harry Potter: A young boy learns that wizards and magic are real, only to discover that there is a powerful wizard who is intent on killing him. Now he must continue the fight that he didn’t  know he was fighting, and only one can live.

The Black Company: They were shunned for what the common folk assumed to be black magic. But now the world needs them more than ever with a looming threat on the rise.


The purpose of the lists above are to give people who don’t usually read fantasy novels a list of critically acclaimed series’ that most people could enjoy, if given a chance. For those who don’t know, there is a slew of subgenres to fantasy. Those are; 

  • High/epic
  • Low
  • Sword and Sorcery
  • Dark
  • Magic Realism
  • Fables
  • Fairy Tales
  • Superhero Fiction 


Now, the list above doesn’t cover all of these. But, they are all great staples as to what makes the sub-genres different entities of Fantasy. 


The Dresden Files: Magic Realism

Mistborn: High/Epic

Lord of the Rings: High/Epic

Game of Thrones: Dark

The Wheel of Time: Sword and Sorcery

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel: magic Realism

The Heroes of Olympus: Low

The Percy Jackson Series:Low

The Wax and Wayne Series: High/Epic

The Lightbringer Chronicles: High/Epic

The Stormlight Archive: High/Epic

The Heir Chronicles: Low

The Chronicles of Narnia: High/Epic

Harry Potter: Low

The Black Company: Dark